Yousaf Raza Gilani elected Senate chairman without contest

Pakistan Peoples Party leader Yousaf Raza Gilani was elected as chairman of the Senate unopposed on Tuesday.

Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz’s Saidal Khan Nasir was elected deputy-chairman without any opposition as well.

Gilani and Nasir had filed their nomination papers early on Tuesday. No other candidates filed their nomination for the two slots.

The election results were announced after newly-elected members of Senate were sworn in.

Senators belonging to the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf had announced that they would boycott the election.

PTI’s Ali Zafar approached the presiding officer to say that the election for chairman and deputy-chairman was illegal as the house’s composition had not been completed.

He was referring to the fact that elections have not taken place on 11 seats of the Senate from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

However, the presiding officer overruled the objections and said that the elections would proceed as scheduled.


Other News

Back to top button